Skip to main content Skip to main navigation Skip to page footer


Sede del dipartimento di scienze della terra

Our department

The Department of Earth Sciences “Ardito Desio” (DiSTAD) was founded on 1 November 1982 from the merger of the Institute of Geology and Palaeontology, the Institute of Mineralogy, Petrography and Ore Deposits, and the Institute of Geophysics. The Department has inherited the cultural traditions of these institutes, which after World War II played a key role in the field of oil and tech research, and in the exploration of remote areas.

The Department is currently headed by Professor Marco Masetti, and employs about 54 professors and research fellows and 20 technical-administrative staff members